Visa policy in Kenya.
The Visa requirements and policy in Kenya are basically universal. Visas are required for most nationals and cost $50. A visa can be obtained on entry, however, we recommend one be obtained before arrival to avoid airport lengthy queues. Visa application forms are available online. A visa is required by all visitors travelling to Kenya with the exception of those holding a re-entry pass to Kenya and citizens of Ethiopia, San Marino, Turkey and Uruguay. Note that the reciprocal visa abolition agreements with Germany, Italy, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Spain and the Republic of Ireland no longer apply and nationals of these countries now require a visa.

Kenya visa requirements.
The Visa requirements and policy in Kenya needs a valid passport with a sufficient number of unused pages for endorsements abroad. Passport must be signed and valid for at least six months. Visa applications from dully completed and signed by the applicant. Two recent passport size photographs attached to the application form. Valid round trip ticket or letter from your travel agent certifying that the applicant holds prepaid arrangements. A self-addressed stamped envelope for express mail, courier, registered mail, etc., if the visa is urgently required. Meter stamps are not acceptable. Home and work telephone numbers. Please fill out the form correctly and enclose the photographs and payments to avoid delay and disappointment.

Visa application to Kenya goes online. All application will be made via 

Visa Fees Charges
Multiple Entries: $100 Single Entry: $50 Transit Visa: $20

1. Please note that children below the age of 16 yrs are not charged visa fees.

2. The reduced visa fees were affected on 1st March 2009, as a directive from the ministry of tourism on attracting more tourists into the country.

3. Travellers can pay in US dollars, British pounds, Euro or Swiss Franc

Shopping Hours: 

Supermarkets, Stores, Markets, Malls, Business premises, Government offices and museums are open from 08:00hrs to 17:00hrs. Some supermarkets are open 24hrs seven days a week. Most souvenir shops are open during business hours.

Departure Tax:

Departure tax is payable on departure from the International airports and is equivalent to $40 per person. We have two major entry points to Kenya, Jomo Kenyatta International Airport and Moi International Airport. Mombasa is the main port of entry by water.

Hand Luggage: 

The following may be carried in your hand luggage only if they are stored in containers up to 100 ml in size and placed in a transparent resealable plastic bag and thereafter screened separately from other items carried in the hand luggage. The capacity of the transparent plastic bag must not be greater than 1 litre.

Liquids gels and aerosols include:

{Water and other drinks, syrups, creams, lotions and oils. Perfumes and spray gels including hair and shower gels. Pastes including Vaseline and eye-shadow. Pressurized containers such as shaving foam and deodorants.Other items with similar consistency.}

The following items are allowed in hand luggage:

{a} Medicine needed during the flight.

{b} Baby food needed during the flight.

You may buy any liquids beyond the security checkpoints including duty-free or in-flight items. Items purchased must be packed in security tamper-evident bags and accompanied by proof of purchase when presenting them at the security checkpoint.

Visa exemption

Visitors to Kenya require a visa unless they come from one of the visa-exempt countries or can receive a visa on arrival. All visitors must hold a passport valid for 6 months.
East African Tourist Visa is also available, which is valid for Rwanda and Uganda and vice versa if first used in a country that issued the visa

As per Visa requirements and policy in Kenya, citizens of all other countries that do not require a prior visa can obtain one on arrival except for the following 43 countries which do not require a visa to visit Kenya for up to 90 days:

Exempted Visa regions. 

  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Brunei
  • Burundi
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia (30 days)
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa (30 days)
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Visa required in advance
Visa requirements and policy in Kenya states that citizens of the following countries and territories require a visa in advance to visit Kenya:

  • Afghanistani
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Cameroon
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  •  Eritrea
  •  Iraq
  •  Kosovo
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Palestine
  • Senegal
  • Somalia
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan

Visa requirements and policy in Kenya dictates that visitors who have recently been to Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone are refused entry due to the Ebola virus epidemic in West Africa even if holding a visa.
Visa on arrival
All other nationalities may obtain a visa on arrival.

For online support E-mail: [email protected],

                                            [email protected]